Racing | Photography | Models

On April 19-21, 2007, the American Le Mans Series held their second Lone Star Grand Prix on the roads and parking lots around the stadiums near downtown Houston, Texas. Along with the ALMS, the Star Mazda series also raced. The event was held in conjunction with the Champ Car Grand Prix of Houston.

The winner of the support Star Mazda race was Dane Cameron, with Daniel Dileo second, and Jonathan Goring third.

The main event ALMS sports car race was won by the LMP2 Penske Porsche RS Spyder of Romain Dumas and Timo Bernhard. Second went to the Brian Herta and Marino Franchitti in the LMP2 Andretti Green Racing Acura ARX-01a and third place to the LMP1  Audi Sport North America Audi R10 TDI of Allan McNish and Rinaldo Capello.

Class winners:
LMP1 – Allan McNish/Rinaldo Capello Audi Sport North America Audi R10 TDI (3rd overall)
LMP2 – Romain Dumas/Timo Bernard Penske Porsche RS Spyder (1st overall)
GT1 – Johnny O’Connell/Jan Magnussen Corvette Racing Corvette C6R (10th overall)
GT2 – Mika Salo/Jaime Melo Risi Competizione Ferrari F430GT (13th overall)

The only LMP1 cars entered were the two Audi Sport North America Audi R10 TDIs. All other prototypes were in LPM2.
The only GT1 cars entered were the two Corvette Racing Corvette C6Rs. All other GT cars were in GT2.

Additional pictures from this event can be found in the Ferrari F430GT gallery in Walk Around section of this web site.